The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at mailto:trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina
BOARD OF TRUSTEES

May 28, 2007

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, May 28, 2007, at 10:30 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams, Chairman; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Vice Chairman; Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Mr. William L. Bethea, Jr.; Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. John W. Fields; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Samuel R. Foster, II; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Others present were: President Andrew A. Sorensen; Secretary Thomas L.

Stepp; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Advancement Brad Choate; Legal Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Director of Athletics Eric C. Hyman; Associate Vice President for Development Michelle D.

Dodenhoff; Executive Director of the Gamecock Club and Associate Athletics Director for Development Chris Wyrick; University Legislative Liaison John D. Gregory; Director of the Office of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Russ McKinney, Jr.; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Chairman Adams called the meeting to order. He welcomed everyone and invited Board members and administrators seated at the table to introduce themselves. He asked Secretary Stepp to call the roll in order to recognize those members who were participating via telephone conference call. Mr. McKinney introduced members of the media who were in attendance.

Chairman Adams stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

I. <u>Gamecock Club Structure Five-Year Plan</u>: Chairman Adams called on Mr. Hyman who reiterated his comments presented during the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee earlier today.

Mr. Hyman explained that the Special Committee on Athletics (SCOA) was formed to study and to analyze athletic items of special significance to the Athletics Department, the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee, the Gamecock Club and the administration.

The committee consisted of five voting members: Sam Foster, Chair of the Committee; William Hubbard, a Board member; Ted Girardeau, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Gamecock Board; Chip Comer, President of the Board of Directors of the Gamecock Club; and Herb Sharp, current Gamecock Club member and former Executive Director of the Gamecock Club. Mr. Herbert Adams was a non-voting member of this committee as were Tommy Stepp, Terry Parham, Eric Hyman, Kevin O'Connell, Kent Hegenauer, Chris Wyrick and John Wentzell.

In order to address the Board of Trustees goal of positioning the Athletics Department in the top 25 Division 1A Athletics programs, the SCOA had presented a proposed 5-year plan to increase Gamecock Club dues; it was unanimously approved and forwarded to the Gamecock Club Board for consideration. The Gamecock Club Executive Committee reviewed SCOA's plan, considered possible adjustments to the plan, and ultimately approved the current version. The full Gamecock Club Board also sanctioned the plan.

Mr. Hyman further iterated that since 1966, Gamecock Club dues had increased only once, in 1989.

The proposed increase, he noted, will predominantly assist the Athletics Department with the development of new facilities.

Earlier today, the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee had unanimously approved the proposal and, at this time, Mr. Hyman was requesting Board approval.

Mr. Mungo moved to approve the action of the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee earlier today. Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion.

For the record, Secretary Stepp stated that the Intercollegiate Athletics

Committee approved the following motion: to adopt the Gamecock Club membership

dues schedule for the years 2008-2012 as recommended and approved by the Gamecock

Club Board of Directors as well and as shown on the chart distributed with the

agenda materials for this meeting entitled "Proposed Gamecock Club Dues Increases."

Secretary Stepp conducted a roll call vote, and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Board of Trustees, Chairman Adams declared the meeting adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary