The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

November 9, 2007

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, November 9, 2007, at 2:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Chairman; Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Darla D. Moore; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Herbert C. Adams, Board Chairman; and Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Vice Chairman. Mr. William L. Bethea, Jr. and Mr. Samuel R. Foster, II were absent. Other Trustees present were: Mr. John W. Fields; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; Mr. M. Wayne Staton; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Faculty Liaison Committee representatives present were: Professor Elizabeth P. Bilderback, Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee; and Dr. Teresa L. Smith, USC Sumter, Regional Campuses Representative. Dr. Robert Best, Chair of the Faculty Senate; Dr. Pamela Cooper, USC Beaufort, Senior Campuses Representative; and Dr. Constance Schulz, Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee were absent.

Others present were: President Andrew A. Sorensen; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Research and Health Affairs Harris Pastides; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for University Advancement Brad Choate; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice Provost and Executive Dean of Regional Campuses and Continuing Education Chris P. Plyler; Chancellor of USC Aiken Thomas L. Hallman; Chancellor of USC Upstate John C. Stockwell; Dean of the School of Medicine Dr. Donald J. DiPette; University of South Carolina Campus Dean for the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Randall C. Rowen; Interim Dean of the Arnold School of Public Health G. Thomas (Tom) Chandler; Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs William T. Moore; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Arnold

II-11

School of Public Health, Gregory A. Hand; Senior Director of Advancement Administration, Division of University Advancement, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Vice Provost for Faculty Development Christine W. Curtis; Director of Government Affairs and Legislative Liaison John D. Gregory; Associate Director of Government Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Director of Governmental and Community Relations Shirley D. Mills; Public Information Officer, USC Lancaster, Shana Funderburk; Director of University Communications, University Advancement, Russ McKinney; Board staff members Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone; Board Office student Brandi Pope; and members of the media.

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Mr. McKinney stated that there were no members of the media in attendance.

Chairman von Lehe stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman von Lehe stated that there were personnel matters dealing with recommendations for honorary faculty titles, a midyear tenure and promotion recommendation, an appointment with tenure, honorary degree nominations, and a gift naming opportunity which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman von Lehe called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Bradley so moved. Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: President Sorensen, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Becker, Dr. Pastides, Mr. Kelly, Dr. Hogue, Mr. Choate, Dr. Pruitt, Ms. Jameson, Dr. Plyler, Mr. Parham, Dr. Moore, Dr. Curtis, Mr. Gregory, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Mills, Mr. McKinney, Mrs. Saxon, and Ms. Stone.

Return to Open Session

I. Department Name Change:

A. Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences:

Chairman von Lehe called on Dean Rowen who explained that changes would improve the collaborations between campuses.

B. Department of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences:

II-12

Mr. Bradley moved to approve the two department name changes as presented. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. The votes were taken, and the motions carried.

II. Program Name Change:

Bachelor of Arts in Education with a Major in Middle Level Education:

Chairman von Lehe called on Chancellor Hallman who explained that the program had already been approved by the Academic Affairs Committee and the State Commission on Higher Education, but that there was error between the names approved by each. The request was to correct the name.

Mr. Adams moved to approve the program name change as presented. Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

III. Degree Name Change:

A. <u>Bachelor of Arts, Special Education - Multi-categorical,</u> <u>USC Aiken</u>:

Chancellor Hallman explained that the request was an effort to clarify how teachers would be certified by the State Department of Education.

Mr. Hubbard moved to approve the degree name change as presented. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

B. <u>Master of Public Health, General Public Health, Arnold</u> School of Public Health, USC Columbia:

Chairman von Lehe called on Dr. Greg Hand who stated that the request would provide a better description of the established program.

Mr. Buyck moved to approve the degree name change as presented. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

IV. Program Proposal:

- Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science in Public Health, Arnold School of Public Health, USC Columbia:

Dr. Hand explained that currently there were less than ten undergraduate public health programs at accredited schools. The programs were designed to give students an understanding of public health and to move them into the University's Public Health Graduate Programs, Law School, Medical School, or Nursing School.

Mr. Whittle moved to approve the program proposal as presented. Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. Chairman von Lehe noted that the proposed program was projected to generate over \$6 million, and only cost a half a million.

The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

V. Gift Naming Opportunity:

Chairman von Lehe called on Secretary Stepp who reported that the Gift Naming Opportunity Committee unanimously approved the following naming:

- "The George Dean Johnson, Jr. College of Business and Economics" USC Upstate

Mr. Buyck moved to approve the gift naming as presented. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

VI. <u>Adjournment</u>:

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary