The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

August 10, 2007

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 10, 2007, at 1:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams, Chairman; Mr. James Bradley; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Other Trustees present were: Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Mr. William L. Bethea, Jr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. John W. Fields; Mr. Samuel R. Foster II; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. M. Wayne Staton; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Others present were: President Andrew A. Sorensen; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President for Research and Health Sciences Harris Pastides; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice Provost for Faculty Development Christine Curtis; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Associate Vice President and Deputy CIO Jeff Farnham; Assistant Vice President of Advancement Administration, Division of University Advancement, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Vice President for Development, Division of University Advancement, Michelle D. Dodenhoff; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice Provost for System Affairs and Executive Dean for Regional Campuses and Continuing Education Chris P. Plyler; Chancellor of USC Aiken Thomas L. Hallman; Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, USC Aiken, Suzanne Ozment; Chancellor of USC Beaufort Jane T. Upshaw; Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, USC Beaufort, Blanche Premo-Hopkins; Dean of the College of Pharmacy Randall C. Rowen; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Dean of the College of Nursing Peggy O. Hewlett; Dean of USC Salkehatchie Ann Carmichael; Dean of USC Sumter C. Leslie Carpenter; Dean of USC Union Hugh C. Rowland; Director of Athletics Eric Hyman; Budget Director, Division of Business and Finance, Leslie Brunelli; Director of the Office of Internal Audit Alton McCoy; Assistant Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Director of Governmental and Community Relations Shirley Mills; Director of Periodicals, University Publications, Chris Horn; Director of

Government Affairs and Legislative Liaison Johnny D. Gregory; Associate Director of Government Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Division of Business and Finance, Assistant Director of Purchasing Bruce Breedlove; Public Information Officer, USC Lancaster, Shana Funderburk; Chair of the Faculty Senate C. Eugene Reeder; Professor Robert G. Best, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Student Government Association President Nick Payne; Coordinator for Governmental and Community Relations Tommy D. Preston; Director of the Office of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Russ McKinney, Jr.; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Chairman Adams called the meeting to order and asked Mr. McKinney to introduce members of the media who were in attendance. Chairman Adams stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to members of the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Adams stated that there was a contractual matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Bradley moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Secretary Stepp stated that this matter was a contractual negotiation with respect to an Information Technology Contract.

The following persons were invited to remain: Dr. Sorensen, Mr. Stepp, Dr. Becker, Dr. Pastides, Mr. Kelly, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Pruitt, Ms. Jameson, Dr. Plyler, Mr. Parham, Mr. Gregory, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Brunelli, Mr. Breedlove, Mr. McKinney, Mrs. Saxon, Ms. Stone, and Ms. Tweedy.

Return to Open Session

Contracts Valued in Excess of \$250,000:

- Indefinite Delivery Contracts
- Accent Contracting, Inc. 1.
- 2. AOS Specialty Contractors, Inc.
- 3.
- Boykin Contracting, Inc. (Electrical)
 Boykin Contracting, Inc. (General Construction) 4.
- 5. Boykin Contracting, Inc. (Site Work and Landscaping)
- Brad's Electric, Inc. 6.
- Cullum Constructors, Inc. 7.
- 8. First Class Construction, LLC
- 9. Green View Landscaping, Inc.
- 10. Gregory Electric Company, Inc.
- 11. I & E Specialties, Inc.
- 12. Lindler Construction Company, Inc.
- 13. MAR Construction Co., Inc.
- 14. MSI Construction Co., Inc. (Electrical)
- 15. MSI Construction Co., Inc. (General Construction)
- MSI Construction Co., Inc. (Mechanical) 16.
- Priority Construction Co., Inc. 17.
- 18. Regional Mechanical Services, Inc.
- 19. Select Construction & Management, LLC
- 20. Shurburtt Corporation
- 21. Taylor Electrical, Inc.
- 22. Walker White, Inc.
- W. B. Guimarin & Co., Inc. 23
- Weber Construction Co., Inc. 24.
- 25. W. O. Blackstone & Co., Inc.

Chairman Adams called for a motion for approval of all twenty five contracts as distributed in the materials for this meeting. Mr. Mungo so moved. Mr. Bradley seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

OneCarolina Enterprise Resource Planning Agreement: Chairman Adams called on Mr. Parham who reported that with the approval of Dr. Hogue and his team he would like to present to the Board for consideration a proposed agreement between the University and SunGard Higher Education, Inc. with respect to the OneCarolina program in which the University was engaged. The University sought approval of a Master Services agreement between USC and SunGard and more specifically the Task Order #1 which would authorize the Fit/Gap Analysis as the first stage in the implementation of this project.

The term of the contract was seven years commencing August 21, 2007, and ending August 21, 2014. Mr. Parham stated that the scope of the Fit/Gap Analysis was included in the materials mailed for this meeting and those documents also included termination rights. Mr. Parham stated that if the Board approved the agreement today, a Notice of Intent to Award would be issued.

Chairman Adams called for a motion for approval of the contract as distributed in the materials for this meeting. Mr. Bradley so moved. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Adams declared the meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary