The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina
BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Fiscal Policy Committee

August 8, 2008

The Fiscal Policy Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 8, 2008, at 2:19 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; Mr. Samuel R. Foster II, Board Vice Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr.; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Ms. Darla Moore was absent. Other Trustees present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Interim Vice President for University Advancement Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Associate Vice President for Business and Facilities Helen Zeigler; Chancellor of USC Upstate John C. Stockwell; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs William T. Moore; Assistant Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs, USC Upstate, Robert Connelly; Chair of the Faculty Senate Robert G. Best; Student Government Association President Andrew Gaeckle; Director of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Russ McKinney, Jr.; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Board Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order; stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the

Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to members of the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Board Chairman Loadholt invited the Secretary to read aloud the membership of the Committee as constituted by the Executive Committee earlier today.

- I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>: Board Chairman Loadholt opened the floor to nominations. Mr. von Lehe nominated Mr. Gene Warr as Chair of the Fiscal Policy Committee and Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. Mr. Mungo moved that the nominations be closed and that Mr. Warr be elected Chair by acclamation. Mr. von Lehe seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.
- II. <u>Adjournment</u>: There were no other matters to come before the Committee, and Board Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 2:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary