The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

September 12, 2008

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, September 12, 2008, at 1:15 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Samuel R. Foster II, Board Vice Chairman. Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Interim Vice President for Advancement Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs William T. Moore; Vice Provost and Executive Dean for System Affairs and Extended University Chris P. Plyler; Dean of USC Lancaster John Catalano; Dean of the School of Medicine Donald J. DiPette; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Student Development Gene Luna; Assistant to the President and Athletics Director John D. Gregory; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of University Communications, University Advancement, Russ McKinney; President of the Student Government Association Andrew T. Gaeckle; President of the Carolina Judicial Council, Student Government Association, Cassidy Evans; Director of the Academic Integrity Office, Student Government Association, Kelly Eifert; Son of Trustee Chuck Allen, John Allen; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy.

Mr. Whittle announced that Chairman von Lehe was joining the meeting by telephone because a traffic accident on his route to Columbia had logistically necessitated his immediate return to Charleston in order to participate.

Mr. Whittle called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Mr. McKinney indicated that no members of the press were in attendance.

Mr. Whittle stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

There was a contractual matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Whittle called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Lister so moved and Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were asked to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Becker, Mr. Kelly, Mrs. Jameson, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Mr. Parham, Ms. Dodenhoff, Dr. Moore, Mrs. Hanna, Mr. Gregory, Ms. Mills, Mr. McKinney, Mrs. Saxon, Ms. Stone, and Ms. Tweedy.

Return to Open Session

There were no other matters to come before the Committee. Mr. Whittle declared the meeting adjourned at $1:30~\mathrm{p.m.}$

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary