The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

September 8, 2009

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, September 8, 2009, at 1:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Darla D. Moore; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr. Dr. James H. Rex was absent. The student representative, Ms. Meredith Ross, and the faculty representative, Dr. Patrick D. Nolan, were also present.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Chief Financial Officer and Vice President for Finance and Planning William T. Moore; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath; Associate Vice President for Resource Planning Edward L. Walton; Director of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt welcomed everyone and invited Board members to introduce themselves.

Mrs. Lamb indicated that no members of the media were in attendance.

Chairman Loadholt stated that there was a matter requiring receipt of legal advice which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Loadholt called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Bahnmuller so moved and Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Mr. Parham, Dr. Moore, Mrs. Jameson, Mr. Heath, Mr. Walton, Mrs. Lamb, and Mrs. Tweedy.

## Return to Open Session

Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp

Secretary