The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

April 7, 2009

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, April 7, 2009, at 12:25 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. James Bradley; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Samuel R. Foster II, Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Michael J. Mungo. Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr.; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost [Interim] and Vice President for Planning William T. Moore; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice Provost and Executive Dean for System Affairs and Extended University Chris P. Plyler; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Interim Vice President for University Advancement Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath; Special Assistant to the President and Athletics Director John D. Gregory; Vice Provost for Faculty Development Christine W. Curtis; Chair of the Faculty Senate Robert G. Best; Director of Athletics Eric C. Hyman; Director of the Office of Internal Audit Alton McCoy; Director of Facilities, Division of Business and Finance, Tom Quasney; Executive Associate Athletics Director for Facilities, Kevin O'Connell; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Ann Fitzpatrick; Dean of the College of Nursing Peggy O. Hewlett; Dean of the College of Social Work Dennis Poole; Interim Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, College of Nursing, Mary Foster Cox; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Director of Public Information, USC Lancaster, Shana Funderburk; Student Government Association President Meredith Ross; Interim Director of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and asked Ms. Lamb to introduce members of the media who were in attendance. Chairman Loadholt stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information

IV-59

Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to members of the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt stated it was necessary to receive and discuss legal advice on a pending matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Bradley moved to enter Executive Session and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Moore, Mr. Kelly, Dr. Pruitt, Ms. Jameson, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Dodenhoff, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Mr. Hyman, Mr. Gregory, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Lamb, Mrs. Saxon, Ms. Stone, and Ms. Tweedy.

Return to Open Session

I. <u>Contracts Valued in Excess of \$250,000</u>:

- <u>University Libraries</u>: Chairman Loadholt called on Mr. Parham who reported on a gift agreement with Susan Gibbs Robinson who donated to the University the Catesby volumes - a first edition two volume set entitled Natural History of the Carolinas, Florida, and the Bahamas. It was published between 1731-1743 with 220 handcolored plates, and hand-colored map. The gift was valued at \$650,000. Mr. Parham stated that it was a significant donation to the Library. Mark Catesby was the first American naturalist illustrator. Mr. Catesby predated John James Audubon by 103 years. He came to the American colonies in 1712 and began drawing native flora and fauna. Mr. Parham noted that Mrs. Robinson donated the books to the University's Rare Books Collection, so that they could be used to support teaching and research.

Chairman Loadholt called for a motion to approve the gift agreement as described in the meeting materials. Mr. Bradley so moved. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt called for any other matters to come before the Committee. Since there were no other matters to come before the Executive Committee, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary