The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

## Telephone Conference Call

January 12, 2010

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, January 12, 2010, at 1:00 p.m. in the Board Secretary's Office in the Osborne Building.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Members absent were: Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr. Other Trustees present were: Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Ms. Amy E. Stone.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice

President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice Provost for Faculty

Development Christine W. Curtis; Director of Media Relations, Office of Communications,

Margaret Lamb; and Board of Trustees staff member Karen L. Tweedy.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stepp to call the roll because of telephone participation. Mrs. Lamb indicated that no members of the press were in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that there were personnel matters dealing with tenure and promotion recommendations which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Jones called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Lister so moved and Mr. Adams seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, and Dr. Curtis.

## RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at  $1:05~\mathrm{p.m.}$ 

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary