The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

December 20, 2010

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, December 20, 2010, in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room at 3:00 p.m.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Darla D. Moore; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Finance and Planning William T. Moore; Vice President of Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Resource Planning Edward L. Walton; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Facilities Tom Quasney; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Ann Fitzpatrick; Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Columbia Campus Randell Rowen; Executive Director of the Office of Foundations Jerome D. Odom; Senior Vice Provost Christine W. Curtis; Dean of USC Sumter C. Leslie Carpenter; Assistant Provost for Academic Programs Kris H. Finnigan; Director of the Department of Internal Audit Alton McCoy; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing, Division of Business and Finance, Charles D. FitzSimons; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Special Assistant to the President and Director of Athletics John D. Gregory; Chair of the Faculty Senate Patrick D. Nolan; Executive Assistant, Facilities Planning and Construction, Donna Collins; Director of the Office of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; Department of Facilities Joy Gillespie; Mr. Dick Galehouse and Justin Fay, Sasaki; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Barbara Salmons, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone.

II-23

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Mrs. Lamb introduced a member of the press who was in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been distributed to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that was a personnel matter dealing with midyear tenure and promotion recommendations which was appropriate for Executive Session; and he called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Buyck so moved and Mr. Bussell seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Jones invited the following persons to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Dr. Moore, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Kresovich, Ms. Owens, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Dodenhoff, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Dr. Curtis, Dr. Doerpinghaus, Mr. Heath, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Campus Chancellors, Mr. Gregory, Ms. Mills, Mrs. Martin, and Mrs. Lamb.

Open Session

I. <u>Midyear Tenure and Promotion Recommendations</u>: Chairman Jones called for a motion to approve the midyear tenure and promotion recommendations as presented. Mr.

Buyck so moved and Mr. Westbrook seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary