The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

August 6, 2010

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 6, 2010, at 2:30 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Darla D. Moore; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Interim Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs and Dean of the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies Charles Bierbauer; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath; Chair of the Faculty Senate Patrick D. Nolan; wife of Board Chairman Miles Loadholt, Ann Loadholt; Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Director of the Office of Media Relations Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and invited those present to introduce themselves. Mrs. Lamb indicated introduced members of the media who were present.

Chairman Loadholt stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt stated that there were personnel matters dealing with Board committee assignments which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Adams moved to enter Executive Session. Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Parham, Dean Bierbauer, Mr. Heath, Ms. Mills, Mrs. Martin, and Mrs. Lamb.

Return to Open Session

I. <u>Board of Trustees Committee Assignments</u>: Chairman Loadholt called on Secretary Stepp who explained that, as discussed in Executive Session, the Executive Committee considered the following appointments which did not include the ex officio status of the Chairman and Vice Chairman:

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee	Buildings and Grounds Committee	Fiscal Policy Committee
William C. Hubbard Mark W. Buyck, Jr. William W. Jones, Jr. Greg Gregory Charles H. Williams W. Lee Bussell, Sr. Thad H. Westbrook C. Dorn Smith, III, M.D.	Herbert C. Adams William C. Hubbard Toney J. Lister John C. von Lehe, Jr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr. William W. Jones, Jr. Greg Gregory Leah B. Moody	Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Darla D. Moore Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs C. Dorn Smith, III Thad H. Westbrook Charles H. Williams W. Lee Bussell, Sr.

Health Affairs Committee	Intercollegiate Athletics Committee	Student-Trustee Liaison Committee
C. Edward Floyd, M.D. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. John C. von Lehe, Jr. Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs Leah B. Moody C. Dorn Smith, III, M.D. Thad H. Westbrook	C. Edward Floyd, M.D. Herbert C. Adams William C. Hubbard Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Toney J. Lister Mark W. Buyck, Jr. William W. Jones, Jr. Chuck Allen	Greg Gregory J. Egerton Burroughs W. Lee Bussell, Sr. Leah B. Moody Charles H. Williams

He also noted that two ad hoc committees will be appointed by Chairman Loadholt. Proposed membership as requested by Board members was listed below. Each of the standing committees will elect a chair of that particular committee later this afternoon; Chairman Loadholt will appoint the chairs of the ad hoc committees.

Ad Hoc Committee on	Ad Hoc Committee on
Development	Strategic Planning
W. Lee Bussell, Sr. Greg Gregory William C. Hubbard William W. Jones, Jr. Leah B. Moody	Herbert C. Adams W. Lee Bussell, Sr. William C. Hubbard William W. Jones, Jr. Leah B. Moody John C. von Lehe, Jr. Thad H. Westbrook Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Mr. Adams moved approval of the committee assignments as presented. Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt nominated members of the two ad hoc committees as proposed. He appointed Mr. Jones as chairman of the Ad Hoc Committee on Development and Mr. Whittle as chairman of the Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning.

Since there were no other matters to come before the Executive Committee, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary