The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Fiscal Policy Committee

August 6, 2010

The Fiscal Policy Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 6, 2010, at 2:50 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr. and Ms. Darla D. Moore were absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Ms. Leah B. Moody.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Interim Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs and Dean of the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies Charles Bierbauer; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath; Chair of the Faculty Senate Patrick D. Nolan; wife of Board Chairman Miles Loadholt, Ann Loadholt; Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Director of the Office of Media Relations Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy.

Board Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and welcomed those in attendance.

He invited Secretary Stepp to read aloud the membership of the Committee as constituted by the Executive Committee earlier today. Mrs. Lamb indicated that no members of the media were in attendance.

Board Chairman Loadholt stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the full Board of Trustees; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

V-1

I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>: Board Chairman Loadholt opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Williams nominated Mr. Burroughs as Chair of the Fiscal Policy Committee and Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: There were no other matters to come before the Committee, and Board Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 2:54 p.m. Respectfully submitted,

> Thomas L. Stepp Secretary