The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee Conference Call

February 23, 2010

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met via telephone conference call on Tuesday, February 23, 2010, at 8:35 a.m. The call was anchored from Room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Board Vice Chairman. Members absent were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; and Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Finance and Planning William T. Moore; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Vice President for Medical Affairs Donald J. DiPette; Director of the Office of Media Relations Margaret Lamb; and Distinguished President Emeritus Andrew A. Sorensen.

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. There were no members of the media in attendance.

Chairman von Lehe stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman von Lehe stated that the committee will receive legal advice on contractual negotiations which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mrs. Stone moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Provost Amiridis, Dr. Moore, Dr. Sorensen, Dr. DiPette, Mr. Heath, Mr. Parham, and Mrs. Lamb.

VI-15

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to be considered by the Committee, Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m. Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary