The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES Health Affairs Committee

March 23, 2010

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, March 23, 2010, at 11:30 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mrs. Amy E. Stone; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Board Vice Chairman. Members absent were: Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Toney J. Lister.

The faculty representative, Dr. Patrick D. Nolan, and the student representative, Mr. Ebbie Yazdani, were also present.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Finance and Planning William T. Moore; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Interim Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs and Dean of the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies Charles Bierbauer; Vice President for Medical Affairs Donald J. DiPette; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Resource Planning Edward L. Walton; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Student Life and Development Jerry Brewer; Executive Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Joseph DiPiro; Campus Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, USC Campus, Randall C. Rowen; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and the Dean of Undergraduate Studies Helen I. Doerpinghaus; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Assistant Provost for Academic Programs Kristia H. Finnigan; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Global Spectrum Regional Vice President Doug Higgons; Director of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; USC distinguished professor emeritus Travis Pritchett; Professor, Department of Instruction

VI-23

and Teacher Education, College of Education, Edwin M. Dickey; former officer with the US Department of Labor Shannon Davis; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy; and members of the media.

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, asked everyone to introduce themselves; and invited Ms. Lamb to introduce members of the media in attendance.

Chairman von Lehe stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman von Lehe stated that there were contractual matters which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mrs. Stone moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Dr. Moore, Mrs. Jameson, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Kresovich, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Dodenhoff, Dr. DiPette, Dean Bierbauer, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Mrs. Hanna, Mr. Gregory, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Mills, and Mrs. Lamb. II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters appropriate for discussion in Executive Session, and no other matters to come before the Board, Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 12:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary