The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

August 3, 2010

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Tuesday, August 3, 2010, at 10:05 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. Chuck Allen was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Finance and Planning William T. Moore; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Associate Vice President for Resource Planning Edward L. Walton; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; President and CEO of Kaludis Consulting Company George Kaludis; Senior Consultant of Kaludis Consulting Company Richard Dean; and Director of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb.

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, asked everyone to introduce themselves; Ms. Lamb indicated that no members of the media were in attendance.

Chairman von Lehe stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and materials had been circulated to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman von Lehe stated that there were contractual matters which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Burroughs moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Dr. Moore, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Mr. Walton, Mrs. Martin, Mrs. Lamb, Dr. George Kaludis and Dr. Richard Dean.

At the conclusion of the Executive Session, Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

VI-1

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary