The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Meeting

June 17, 2011

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, June 17, 2011, at 4:40 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Hugh F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr, Vice Chairman; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Mr. Thad H. Westbrook and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais were absent.

The faculty representative, Dr. Patrick D. Nolan, was present; the student representative, Mr. Joe Wright, was absent.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice Provost and Executive Dean for Extended University Chris P. Plyler; Assistant Provost for Academic Programs Kris H. Finnigan; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Senior Vice Provost Christine W. Curtis; Chancellor of USC Aiken Thomas L. Hallman; Chancellor of USC Beaufort Jane T. Upshaw; Chancellor of USC Upstate John C. Stockwell; Incoming Chancellor of USC Upstate Thomas L. Moore; Dean of USC Sumter C. Leslie Carpenter; Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance, USC Aiken, Ginger S. Hudock; Campus Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Randall C. Rowen; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Finance and Planning Division, Helen T. Zeigler; Chief Financial Officer, Department of Athletics, Jeff Tallant; Executive Associate Athletics Director Kevin O'Connell; Associate Athletics Director Marcy Girton; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing, Division of Finance and Planning, Charlie Fitzsimons; Director of Accounting, Controller's Office, Mary T. Peak; Associate Vice President for Finance and Personnel, Division of Student Affairs, Stacey Bradley; Director of Governmental and Community

Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of Employee Communications,
Division of Human Resources, Debra Allen; Director of Media Relations, Office of
Communications, Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin
Johnson; Board staff members Barbara Salmons, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and suspended Board introductions. There were no members of the press present.

Chairman Loadholt stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Open Session

I. Early Payoff of Bank of America Energy Savings and Management Notes:

Chairman Loadholt called on Mr. Walton, Chief Financial Officer, who requested board approval for the administration to pay off \$30 million in Bank of America Energy Savings and Management notes which would result in a \$4.5 million savings in interest over the next five years.

Mr. Adams moved approval. Mr. Burroughs seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Board, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary