The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

October 17, 2011

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, October 17, 2011, at 10:30 a.m. in Room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Members absent were Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Director of Employee Communications, Division of Human Resources, Debra Allen; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath; Director of the Office of Media Relations Margaret Lamb; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy; and a member of the media.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt welcomed everyone and asked Secretary Stepp to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Mrs. Lamb introduced members of the media who were in attendance.

Open Session

I. Election of the Secretary of the University and of the Board of Trustees:

Chairman Loadholt called on Mr. Adams to move to elect Mrs. Amy E. Stone as Secretary of the University and of the Board of Trustees effective January 1, 2012. The entire Board seconded the motion. Mrs. Stone was elected by acclamation.

Chairman Loadholt thanked the members of the Secretary Search Committee: Mr. Adams; Mr. von Lehe; Ms. Moody; Mr. Buyck; and Mr. Hubbard. He especially thanked Ms. Allen who served as the administrative support staff for the committee.

Mrs. Stone was invited to join the meeting. Chairman Loadholt congratulated Mrs. Stone on behalf of the Board of Trustees. She thanked the Board and told everyone that

I**-**45

it was truly an exciting day for her. She said she felt like she had been preparing for the position all her life, with her days at Carolina, her volunteer service to the University, her involvement in the Alumni Association, and her prior seat on the Board.

Since there were no other matters, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary