The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

December 7, 2011

The Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina met on Wednesday, December 7, 2011, at 11:00 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Members absent were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp;

Secretary-Elect Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of Athletics Eric C. Hyman; and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policies, College of Education, and Faculty Athletics Representative Zach Kelehear.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt welcomed everyone and asked Secretary Stepp to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Ms. Lawrence indicated that no members of the media were in attendance.

Chairman Loadholt stated that it was necessary to receive legal advice which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Loadholt called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Adams so moved and Ms. Moody seconded the motion. Secretary Stepp called the roll and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Secretary-Elect Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Dr. Kelehear and Mr. Hyman.

At the conclusion of the Board of Trustees meeting, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary