The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

September 16, 2011

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, September 16, 2011, in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room at 12:00 p.m.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Members absent were: Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Faculty Liaison Committee representatives present were: Dr. Patrick D. Nolan, Past Chair of the Faculty Senate; Dr. Varsha Kulkarni, Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee; Dr. Charles Keith, USC Beaufort, Senior Campuses Representative; and Dr. Sarah Miller, Regional Campuses Representative. Dr. James Knapp, Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee was absent.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle Dodenhoff; Dean of the College of Education Lemuel W. Watson; Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Arnold School of Public Health, Cheryl Addy; Executive Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, School of Music, Andrew Gowan; Director of Academic Programs Kristia H. Finnigan; Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policies, College of Education, Zach Kelehear; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Studies, College of Education, Kathy M. Evans; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of the Office of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; Student Government Association President, Joe Wright; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy; and a member of the press.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order; and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Mrs. Lamb introduced a member of the press who was in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been e-mailed to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business

Chairman Jones stated that there were personnel matters dealing with recommendations for honorary faculty titles, one tenure and promotion recommendation and honorary degree nominations which were appropriate for Executive Session.

Chairman Jones called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Cofield so moved and Mr. Bussell seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Dr. Hogue, Ms. Lawrence, Ms. Dodenhoff, Ms. Brunelli, University Chancellors, Mr. Walker, Mr. Heath, Ms. Mills, and Mrs. Lamb.

Return to Open Session

Chairman Jones called on Dr. Amiridis to present the Open Session items.

I. Terminations:

- A. Bachelor of Science in Physical Education (B.S.P.E.), (Athletic Training concentration only, retain other concentrations and degree), USC Columbia:
- B. Master of Music (M.M.) in Music Theory, USC Columbia:
- C. $\underline{\text{Doctor of Education (Ed.D.)}}$ in Health Education Administration, USC Columbia:

Provost Amiridis explained that the Bachelor of Science in Physical Education degree was originally created with two different concentrations: one emphasizing athletic training and the other one emphasizing academics. The Board of Trustees had already approved a Bachelor of Science degree in Athletic Training. This action he characterized as a "housecleaning item" since there was no further reason to maintain the concentration.

Students currently enrolled in the concentration will be transferred to the new Bachelor of Science degree program. Provost Amiridis advised that the national accrediting agency for athletic training required that the words "athletic training" not be part of the degree name.

The Master of Music in Music Theory, he reported, had suffered because of budget cuts. Enrollment numbers had also been low during the past few years. As a result, the School of Music wanted to consolidate several individual Master of Music degree programs into a broad masters program with concentrations. Currently enrolled students were being given the opportunity to finish their degrees by the summer of 2015 provided that the Committee and Board of Trustees approved the termination.

The third program, the Doctor of Education in Health Education

Administration, in the past few years had no new students enrolled; therefore,

there was no longer the demand or market for this program. No further new

admissions were permitted beginning in the fall of 2011 provided that the Committee

and Board of Trustees approved the termination.

The two students currently in the program (at the dissertation stage) were anticipated to complete the program by August 2015.

Mr. Westbrook moved approval of the three degree program terminations as presented. Mr. Bussell seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

II. New Program:

- <u>Graduate Certificate in Play Therapy, USC Columbia</u>: Provost

Amiridis stated that this program will require 18 credit hours of study and will

offer specialized training for school counselors, mental health professionals, and

others who work with children, adolescents and adults experiencing trauma or addiction problems.

Students in the program will learn how human growth and development in the theory and practice of play therapy offered counseling through play and creative arts. Graduates will be qualified to register as play therapists with a national accredited association in this field.

No additional funds will be required to administer the program.

Mr. Cofield moved approval of the Graduate Certificate in Play Therapy as presented. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 12:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary