The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

December 13, 2011

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, December 13, 2011, in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room at 9:30 a.m.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Faculty Liaison Committee representatives present were: Dr. Sandra J. Kelly, Chair of the Faculty Senate; Patrick D. Nolan, Past Chair of the Faculty Senate; and Dr. James Knapp, Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee. Dr. Varsha Kulkarni, Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee; Dr. Charles Keith, USC Beaufort, Senior Campuses Representative; and Dr. Sarah Miller, USC Salkehatchie, Regional Campuses Representative were absent.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President of Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; University Vice Provost and Executive Dean for Extended Campus Chris P. Plyler; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Facilities Tom Quasney; Associate Vice President for Student Life and Development, Division of Student Affairs, Jerry Brewer; Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Senior Vice Provost Christine W. Curtis; Dean of USC Lancaster John Catalano; Dean of USC Sumter C. Leslie Carpenter; Deputy Athletics Director Marcy Girton; Chief Financial Officer, Department of Athletics, Jeff Tallant; Controller Patrick M. Lardner; Executive Assistant to the President for Equal Opportunity Programs Bobby Gist; Interim Executive Director of the Carolina Alumni Association and Secretary-Elect Amy Stone; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing, Division of Finance and Planning,

Charlie Fitzsimons; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Faculty Athletics Representative, and a Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policies, College of Education, Zach Kelehear; In-coming Chair of the Lancaster County Commission on Higher Education Bruce Brumfield; Executive Assistant, Facilities Planning and Construction, Donna Collins; Student Government Association President, Joe Wright; Director of the Office of Media Relations, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; Wayne Corley, McNair Law Firm; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Mrs. Lamb introduced a member of the press who was in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been distributed to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that was a personnel matter dealing with midyear tenure and promotion recommendations which was appropriate for Executive Session; and he called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Buyck so moved and Mr. Bussell seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Jones invited the following persons to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Dodenhoff, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Mrs. Stone, Dr. Curtis, Dr. Doerpinghaus, Mr. Heath, Campus Chancellors, Ms. Mills, and Mrs. Lamb.

## Open Session

- I. <u>Midyear Tenure and Promotion Recommendations</u>: Chairman Jones called for a motion to approve the midyear tenure and promotion recommendations as presented. Mr. Cofield so moved and Mr. Westbrook seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.
- II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary