The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Buildings and Grounds Committee

June 17, 2011

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, June 17, 2011, at 11:50 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. W. Lee Bussell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Facilities Tom Quasney; Senior Vice Provost Christine W. Curtis; Chancellor of USC Aiken Tom Hallman; Chancellor of USC Beaufort, Jane Upshaw; Chancellor of USC Upstate John Stockwell; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Chair of the Faculty Senate Patrick D. Nolan; USC Upstate Executive Director, University Boards and Public Affairs, John Perry;; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of Media Relations, Office of Communications, Margaret Lamb; Student Government Association (SGA) President Joe Wright; Richard Webel of Spartanburg; Board staff members Barbara Salmons, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone; and a member of the press.

Chairman Buyck called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Ms. Lamb introduced a member of the media who was in attendance.

Chairman Buyck stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been electronically posted for the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Buyck stated that there were contractual matters relative to USC Upstate

which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Burroughs moved to enter Executive Session and Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Dr. Curtis, Dr. Pruitt, Mr. Byrd, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Lawrence, Ms. Dodenhoff, University Chancellors, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Mrs. Hanna, Mr. Heath, Mr. Mobley, Mr. Gregory, Ms. Mills, Mrs. Martin, Mrs. Lamb, Mr. Webel, and Mr. Perry.

Return to Open Session

There being no other business, Chairman Buyck declared the meeting adjourned at $12:50~\mathrm{p.m.}$

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary