The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Health Affairs Committee

March 18, 2011

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, March 18, 2011, at 11:10 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. W. Lee Bussell Sr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Greg Gregory; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer and Vice President for Finance and Planning Edward L. Walton; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President of Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hoque; Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies Helen I. Doerpinghaus; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Associate Vice President for Finance and Planning Leslie Brunelli; Campus Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Randall C. Rowen; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard A. Hoppmann; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Chair of the USC Columbia Faculty Senate Patrick D. Nolan; Special Assistant to the President and Director of Athletics John D. Gregory; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; USC Columbia, Student Government Association President Joe Wright; Director of Media Relations, Office of Communications, Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Terri Saxon, Barbara Salmons and Vera Stone.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, asked everyone to introduce themselves. Ms. Lamb introduced members of the media who were in attendance.

Chairman Smith welcomed the new Columbia campus SGA President, Joe Wright and congratulated him on his election.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Smith stated that there was a contractual matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. von Lehe moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Westbrook seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Hogue, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Dr. Kresovich, Ms. Dodenhoff, Mr. Byrd, Dr. Plyer, Dr. DiPette, Dr. Hoppmann, Mr. Heath, Ms. Brunelli, Mrs. Hanna, University Chancellors, Mr. Gregory, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Mills and Mrs. Lamb.

## Return to Open Session

## I. USC/GHS Medical Education Operating Agreement:

Chairman Smith called for a motion for approval of the Operating Agreement between USC and the Greenville Hospital System for the development of the USC School of Medicine-Greenville. Mr. Whittle so moved. Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried. [Exhibit A]

II. Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary