The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

November 16, 2011

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, November 16, 2011, at 3:45 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr., Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman were absent.

Other Board members present were: Mr. W. Lee Bussell Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hoque; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President for Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Associate Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Vice President of Medical and Academic Services and Dean of the USC School of Medicine-Greenville Jerry R. Youkey; Executive Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Joseph T. DiPiro; Vice President of Medical Affairs Donald DiPetti; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard A. Hoppmann; Dean of the College of Social Work Anna Scheyett; Interim Executive Director of the Carolina Alumni Association and Secretary-Elect Amy Stone; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Chair of the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, USC School of Medicine, Elizabeth G. Baxley; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of Media Relations, Office of Communications, Margaret Lamb; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; Board staff members Terri Saxon and Karen Tweedy; and members of the press.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Ms. Lamb noted that no members of the media were present.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

VI-1

Chairman Smith stated that there were contractual matters which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Dr. Floyd moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. von Lehe seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Mrs. Stone, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Hogue, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Dr. Nagarkatti, Ms. Dodenhoff, Mr. Byrd, Dr. Plyler, Mr. Walker, Dr. DiPette, Dr. Hoppmann, Dr. Youkey, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Heath, Ms. Brunelli, Mrs. Hanna, University Chancellors, Mr. Walker, Ms. Mills and Mrs. Lamb.

Return to Open Session

- I. <u>Memorandum of Understanding for Cooperation of Services Exchange between</u> <u>University of South Carolina School of Medicine-Greenville and Greenville</u> Hospital System University Medical Center:
- II. <u>Memorandum of Understanding for Cooperation of Services Exchange between</u> <u>University of South Carolina School of Medicine-Greenville and Clemson</u> <u>University</u>:

Mr. Parham explained the rational and efficiencies of providing support services to the University School of Medicine-Greenville through these Memoranda.

Chairman Smith called for a motion to approve the two memorandum of understandings in concept as presented. Mr. Whittle so moved and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

III. <u>Reports from Medical Deans</u>:

Dr. Amiridis explained the background of the Inter-professional Education in the Health Sciences program. He introduced Dr. Baxley, Chair of the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, USC School of Medicine. She explained the program in detail as described in a memorandum kept in the permanent record of the Board Files.

IV. Other Matters:

A. Representation on Joint Board Liaison Committee USC School of

<u>Medicine-Greenville</u>: Chairman Smith called for a motion to appoint representatives to the Committee. Mr. von Lehe moved to appoint Dr. Floyd, Dr. Smith, and Mr. Whittle as the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees representatives on the Joint Board Liaison Committee. Mr. Burroughs seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

President Pastides thanked Mr. von Lehe for his leadership as past chair of the Health Affairs Committee and the USC/GHS joint oversight committee.

Chairman Smith also thanked Mr. von Lehe and he requested that a letter of commendation be sent to Mr. von Lehe for his efforts and work.

B. <u>USC School of Medicine-Greenville</u>: Dean Youkey provided a brief update on the USC School of Medicine-Greenville. Most importantly, that they had received preliminary accreditation in October 2011. He also reminded the Committee that the Board of Trustees would receive a formal invitation to a "Beam Signing" celebration at the new facility for the University School of Medicine-Greenville on Friday, December 16th.

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp

VI-3

Secretary