The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES <u>Special Called</u> <u>Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee</u>

April 10, 2012

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 in the Osborne Building, Room 206B, at 2:00 p.m.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman. Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman, were absent.

Other Trustee(s) present were: Mr. John von Lehe, Jr. (Subcommittee)

Others present were: Secretary Amy E. Stone; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications Wes Hickman.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman stated that there were no members of the press in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been distributed to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that there was a personnel matter dealing with an honorary degree nomination which was appropriate for Executive Session; and he called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Westbrook so moved and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Jones asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Chairman Jones invited the following persons to remain: Secretary Stone, Mr. Heath, and Mr. Hickman.

## Return to Open Session

I. <u>Personnel Matter – Honorary Degree Nomination</u>: Chairman Jones stated that the Committee considered information relative to one Honorary Degree Nomination. The nomination will move forward according to the honorary degree approval process.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary