The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

August 3, 2012

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 3, 2012, at 12:20 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; and Mr. William C. Hubbard by telephone. Dr. C. Edward Floyd was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown, Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield, Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais. Mr. Mark W. Buyck was absent.

Also present were faculty representative Dr. Sandra J. Kelly and the student representative Kenny Tracy, as well as Cynthia Lister and Ann Loadholt.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Michelle Dodenhoff; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Athletics Department Chief Operating Officer Kevin O'Connell; University Treasurer and Associate Secretary Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Division of Business and Finance, Helen T. Zeigler; University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Senior Vice Provost and Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Debra Allen, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and invited those present to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: Andy Shain of The State and Scott Hood of Gamecock Central.

Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there were personnel matters dealing with Board committee assignments which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Lister moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides and Secretary Stone.

I. Board of Trustees Committee Assignments: Chairman Warr called on Secretary Stone to present

the list of proposed standing committee assignments, noting that the Bylaws establish the Board Chair and Vice

Chair as ex officio members of all committees.

Academic Affairs: Thad H. Westbrook., CHAIR Robert E. "Eddie" Brown Mark W. Buyck, Jr. Thomas C. Cofield A. C. "Bubba" Fennell William W. Jones, Jr. Hubert F. Mobley Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

<u>Audit and Compliance:</u> J. Egerton Burroughs, CHAIR Chuck Allen Robert E. "Eddie" Brown Hubert F. Mobley C. Dorn Smith, MD Thad H. Westbrook Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Charles H. Williams Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

Buildings and Grounds: William W. Jones, Jr., CHAIR Mark W. Buyck, Jr. Thomas C. Cofield William C. Hubbard Toney Lister Miles Loadholt Leah B. Moody Charles H. Williams Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

Executive Committee: Eugene P. Warr, Jr., CHAIR John C. von Lehe, Jr. Miles Loadholt C. Edward Floyd, M. D. William C. Hubbard Toney J. Lister <u>Health Affairs:</u> C. Dorn Smith, MD. CHAIR J. Egerton Burroughs A. C. "Bubba" Fennell C. Edward Floyd, M. D. Miles Loadholt Hubert F. Mobley Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Charles H. Williams Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

Intercollegiate Athletics: Mark W. Buyck, Jr., CHAIR Chuck Allen C. Edward Floyd, M. D. William C. Hubbard William W. Jones, Jr. Toney J. Lister Leah B. Moody Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

Student-Trustee Liaison: Leah B. Moody, CHAIR Chuck Allen Robert E. "Eddie" Brown J. Egerton Burroughs Thomas C. Cofield A. C. "Bubba" Fennell C. Dorn Smith, MD Thad H. Westbrook Eugene P. Warr, Jr. - Ex officio John C. von Lehe, Jr. - Ex officio

Mr. Smith moved approval of the committee assignments as presented. Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried. Chairman Warr announced that the Board's Ad Hoc Committees remain as appointed until work has been completed on updating the Board's Bylaws, which will address committee structure. Mr. Warr also announced that each of the standing committees will elect a chair of that particular committee following the conclusion of the Executive Committee meeting. Since there were no other matters to come before the Executive Committee, Chairman Warr declared the

meeting adjourned at 12:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

& Store me Amy E. Stone

Secretary