The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

December 3, 2012

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, December 3, 2012, in Osborne Building Room 206B at 3:05 p.m.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Miles Loadholt; Other Board members present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Charles H. Williams; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais. Absent were Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; and Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications, Division of Communications Wesley T. Hickman; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media who were in attendance: David Cloninger, Gamecock Central; Joe Gorchow, WIS-TV; Darryl Slater, Charleston Post & Courier; Tony Santaella, WLTX-TV; Josh Kendall, The State; Amanda Coyne and Thad Moore, Daily Gamecock.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a proposed contractual matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session, Mr. Lister so moved, and Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

EXE_120312 Page 1 of 2

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Byrd, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Heath, and Mr. Hickman.

Return to Open Session

Proposed Contractual Matter: Chairman Warr called on President Pastides who said there was an I. opportunity to propose an extension to Football Coach Steve Spurrier's contract. He then called on Athletics Director Ray Tanner for comments.

AD Tanner recommended that the University extend Coach Spurrier's contract to make it a fiveyear contract based on the success of the football program on and off the field.

Mr. Parham informed the Board that Coach Spurrier's contract currently expires on December 31, 2015. The proposal by President Pastides and AD Tanner would add two years so that the new term would expire December 31, 2017. All other terms and conditions of the contract remain unchanged.

Chairman Warr called for a motion to extend Coach Spurrier's contract for two more years, moving the expiration date from December 31, 2015, to December 31, 2017. Mr. Lister made the motion and Mr. Hubbard seconded. The vote was taken and the motion passed.

II. Adjournment: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary

EXE_120312 Page 2 of 2