The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Health Affairs Committee

August 17, 2012

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, August 17, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members joining by telephone were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Committee member Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell was present and Mr. Charles H. Williams was absent. One other Board member was in attendance, Mr. Thomas C. Cofield.

Others joining the meeting by telephone were: President Harris Pastides; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; and Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd. Others present for the meeting were: Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Dr. David M. Schweiger, President of Schweiger Smith & Associates; Dr. Richard Dean, President-Emeritus, Wake Forest University Health Services; Director of News and Internal Communications, Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager, Wes Reardon; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. He asked that Secretary Stone call roll to identify those who had joined the meeting by telephone. Mr. Hickman indicated that there were no members of the media present.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Smith stated that there was a possible contractual matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Whittle moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis,

Mr. Parham, Mr. Byrd, Mr. Heath, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Hickman, Dr. Dean and Dr. Schweiger.

Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

mit Store Amy E. Stone

Secretary