The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Health Affairs Committee

June 15, 2012

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, June 15, 2012, at 12:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. W. Lee Bussell, Sr.; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Vice President for Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard A. Hoppmann; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of the Department of Internal Audit Phil Iapalucci; Associate Budget Director Harry Bell; Director of Financial Reporting, Controller's Office, Mary Peak; Professor in the Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences, and Chair of the Faculty Senate Sandra J. Kelly; USC Columbia Student Government Association President Kenny Tracy; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Incoming Board of Trustees member Robert E. Brown; Director of News and Internal Communications, Wes Hickman; Senior Consultant, Kaludis Consulting and President Emeritus, Wake Forest University Health Sciences, Richard H. Dean; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; Board staff members Debra Allen, Terri Saxon and Vera Stone.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman introduced Andy Shane, The State Newspaper.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Smith stated that there was a contractual matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Westbrook moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Burroughs seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Parham, Dr. Curtis, Dr. Nagarkatti, Ms. Dodenhoff, Mr. Byrd, Dr. Hoppmann, Mr. Heath, Ms. Brunelli, Mr. Perkins, Mrs. Hanna, and Dr. Richard Dean.

## Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary