The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs

January 9, 2012

The Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, January 9, 2012, at 12:00 p.m. in Osborne Building Room 206B.

Members present were: Mr. Toney J. Lister, Chairman; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr. Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present were Mr. Hubert F. Mobley and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: Secretary Amy E. Stone; Legal Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communication Wes Hickman; and Margaret Lamb.

Chairman Lister called the meeting to order and invited Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation. Mrs. Lamb indicated that no members of the media were present.

Chairman Lister stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Lister stated that it was necessary to receive legal advice which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Lister called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Hubbard so moved and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. Secretary Stone called the roll and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Mr. Hickman and Mrs. Lamb.

At the conclusion of the Executive Session, Chairman Lister declared the meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary