The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Student-Trustee Liaison Committee August 3, 2012

The Student-Trustee Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 3, 2012, at 12:45 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Chuck Allen, Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown, Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs, Mr. Thomas C. Cofield, Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, Ms. Leah B. Moody, Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III, Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Board Chairman, and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Mr. Charles H. Williams, Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. and Mitchell M. Zais, with Mr. William C. Hubbard by telephone. Mr. Mark W. Buyck and Dr. C. Edward Floyd were absent.

Also present were faculty representative Dr. Sandra J. Kelly and the student representative Kenny Tracy, as well as Cynthia Lister and Ann Loadholt.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Michelle Dodenhoff; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Athletics Department Chief Operating Officer Kevin O'Connell; University Treasurer and Associate Secretary Susan D. Hanna; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Division of Business and Finance, Helen T. Zeigler; University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Director of Facilities at USC Upstate Rick Puncke; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Director of

STL\_080312 Page 1 of 2

News and Internal Communications Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Debra Allen, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone.

Board Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and welcomed those in attendance.

He invited Secretary Stone to read aloud the membership of the Committee as earlier constituted by the Executive Committee. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: Andy Shain of The State and Scott Hood of Gamecock Central.

Board Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the full Board of Trustees; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

- I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>: Board Chairman Warr opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Burroughs nominated Ms. Leah B. Moody as Chair of the Student-Trustee Liaison Committee and Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.
- II. <u>Adjournment</u>: There were no other matters to come before the Committee, and Board
  Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 12:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

STL\_080312 Page 2 of 2