The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

August 30, 2013

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met by conference call at 1:30 p.m. on Friday, August 30, 2013. The call was anchored from the Osborne Building, Room 206B.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Charles H. William. Absent were Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Mack I. Whittle; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Also present was faculty representative Dr. James H. Knapp. Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications, Division of Communications Wesley T. Hickman; School of Law Dean Robert M. Wilcox; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman indicated that there were no media present for the meeting.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a need to discuss a proposed contractual matter that was appropriate for Executive Session. Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Mobley so moved and Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Mr. Parham, Dean Wilcox, Mr. Hickman and Mr. Heath.

BOT_083013 Page 1 of 2

Open Session

Adjournment

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 2 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E**(**Stone

Secretary

BOT_083013 Page 2 of 2