The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

January 14, 2013

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, January 14, 2013, in Osborne Building Room 206B at 8:45 a.m.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Vice Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; and Mr. Toney J. Lister. Other Board members present were: Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook. Absent were Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Mack I. Whittle; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications, Division of Communications Wesley T. Hickman; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media who were in attendance: Andy Shain, The State, and Thad Moore, Daily Gamecock.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation.

Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a personnel matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session, Mr. von Lehe so moved, and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Parham, Mr. Byrd, Mr. Heath and Mr. Hickman.

EXE_011413 Page 1 of 2

Return to Open Session

I. <u>Personnel Matter – Appointment of Dr. Susan Elkins, Palmetto College Chancellor:</u>

Chairman Warr called for a motion to approve the appointment of Dr. Susan Elkins as Chancellor of Palmetto College, effective February 18, 2013, at an annual base salary of \$160,000 and an Administrative Supplement of \$25,000 for a total annual compensation of \$185,000. Mr. von Lehe so moved and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

EXE_011413 Page 2 of 2