The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee and Health Affairs Committee

and

Palmetto Health Board of Directors Executive Committee

March 21, 2013

The Executive Committee and the Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors met on Thursday, March 21, 2013 in the Palmetto Health Baptist Auditorium at 12:30 p.m.

Members of the Board of Trustees Executive Committee present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.

Members of the Board of Trustees Health Affairs Committee present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Other Board of Trustees members present were: Mr. Thomas C. Cofield and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

University of South Carolina administrators and staff present were: President Harris Pastides;

Secretary Amy E. Stone; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis;

Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Interim Vice President for Communications Wesley T.

Hickman; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham;

Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Special

Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Dean of the School of Medicine Columbia Richard

Hoppmann; Interim Chief Medical Officer, School of Medicine Columbia, William Anderson; Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, School of Medicine Columbia, John Walsh; Chairman of the Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science, School of Medicine Columbia, Meera

Narasimhan; and Board staff member Karen Tweedy.

EXE-HAC_032113 Page 1 of 3

Members of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors Executive Committee present were: Mr. William L. "Freedie" Freeman, Chairman; Ms. Traci Young Cooper, Secretary; Dr. Jerome "Jerry" D. Odom, Treasurer; Mr. Charles "Chuck" D. Beaman, Jr., Chief Executive Officer of Palmetto Health; Representative Lester P. Branham, Chair of the Baptist Wing of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors; Mr. Calvin H. Elam, Chair of the Richland Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees; and Dr. James "Jim" H. Herlong, member of the Palmetto Health Baptist Board and the Palmetto Health Board.

Palmetto Health Administrators present were: Mr. John J. Singerling, President; Mr. Paul K. Duane, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Mr. Howard P. West, Senior Vice President and General Counsel; Dr. James "Jim" I. Raymond, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman indicated that there were no members of the media present.

Chairman Warr stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been distributed to the meeting participants; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a contractual matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Dr. Smith moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Members of the President's Executive Council and Representatives from the USC School of Medicine and members of Palmetto Health Board of Directors and Administrators.

EXE-HAC_032113 Page 2 of 3

Return to Open Session

Adjournment: Since there were no other matters appropriate to come before the joint committees, Chairman War declared the meeting adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone

Secretary

EXE-HAC_032113 Page 3 of 3