The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

<u>Called Joint Meeting of the Health Affairs Committee and</u> <u>the Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee</u>

January 29, 2013

The Health Affairs Committee and the Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina met jointly on Tuesday, January 29, 2013, at 9:30 a.m. in Osborne Building Room 206B.

Health Affairs Committee Members joining by telephone were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr.

Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee Members joining by telephone were: Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley. Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman, participated in person. Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr. was absent.

Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman, as ex-officio members of both committees also joined by telephone.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. William C. Hubbard, Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Ms. Leah B. Moody.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard Hoppmann; Chief Medical Officer, School of Medicine, William Anderson; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications, Wes Hickman; Thad Moore of *The Daily Gamecock*; and Board staff member Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Smith called the meeting of the joint committees to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. He asked that Secretary Stone call the roll to identify those who had joined the meeting by telephone. Mr. Hickman indicated that no members of the media were present. Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members and posted on the Board Portal; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Smith stated that there was a personnel matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Whittle moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Mr. Parham, Mr. Byrd, Ms. Lawrence, Dr. Hoppmann, Dr. Anderson, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Heath, and Mr. Hickman.

Return to Open Session

Before continuing, Mr. Hickman introduced Thad Moore of *The Daily Gamecock* who had joined the meeting in Open Session.

I. <u>School of Medicine Clinical Operations</u>: Chairman Smith called on Provost Amiridis who was seeking committee approval of a proposal to transition the Department of Neurosurgery in the USC School of Medicine Columbia to Palmetto Health effective February 15, 2013. As part of the agreement, physicians and staff will become employees of Palmetto Health in order to ensure a seamless transition of patient care with no disruption in service. This transition, he advised, was based on considerations associated with patient care, limited academic activity of the department, as well as patient care efficiency and financial aspects.

Mr. Fennell moved approval of the motion to close the Department of Neurosurgery of the USC School of Medicine effective February 15, 2013. Mr. Williams seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Imp. Store Amy E. Stone

Secretary