The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs

August 9, 2013

The Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 9, 2013, at 9:30 a.m. in the Keystone Room at Capstone.

Members present were: Mr. Toney J. Lister, Chairman; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; and Mr. William W. Jones, Jr. Committee member Mr. William C. Hubbard was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith, III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and. Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr., and Interim Vice President of Communications Mr. Wes Hickman.

Chairman Lister called the meeting to order. No members of the media were present.

Chairman Lister stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Lister stated that it was necessary to receive legal advice appropriate for Executive Session. Chairman Lister called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Jones so moved. Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Dr. Pruitt, Mr. Walton, Mr. Heath, and Mr. Hickman.

## Return to Open Session

Adjournment: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman II. Lister declared the meeting adjourned at 10:08 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary