The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

January 16, 2014

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met by telephone conference call at 10:30 a.m. Friday, January 16, 2014, in the Osborne Administration Building, Room 206B.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman, who attended in person; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle.

Members absent were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Interim Vice President for Communications Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Finance and Planning Division, Helen T. Zeigler; Associate Vice President for Transportation and Logistical Relations Derrick Huggins; Executive Director of the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Margaret Pope, Gary T. Pope, Jr. with the Pope Zeigler Law Firm; Wilson Jones with the program management firm of Brailsford and Dunlavey; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation. Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

BOT_011614 Page 1 of 3

Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: Andy Shain, *The State*; Scott Hood, *Gamecock Central*; Jim Hammond, *Columbia Business Report*; Renee Sexton Standera, WIS-TV; Tony Santaella, WLTX-TV; Hannah Jeffrey, *Daily Gamecock*; Pete Iacobelli, Associated Press; Ryan Wood, *Charleston Post & Courier*, and John Whittle, *Big Spur*.

Chairman Warr stated that since everyone was present for the Executive Committee's Executive Session and no one objected they would forgo the Executive Session and move into Open Session.

I. <u>Campus Development Contract</u>

Chairman Warr called on Mr. Parham and turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman von Lehe.

Chairman Warr said that because he served as an ex-officio member of the University's Development

Foundation Board, he was recusing himself from the discussion and vote on the West Campus

Development Project. Mr. Parham noted for the record that Mr. Buyck also was recusing himself.

Mr. Parham said that the Executive Committee was recommending approval by the full Board a motion to approve the issuance of the intent to award and authorize the University to enter into a development agreement with Holder Properties, Inc. for development of the West Campus Project. The project consists of two student housing buildings, related parking, and an office/academic research building, as described in the solicitation entitled "State Project: H27-TO37-CA, Request for Proposals for University of South Carolina West Campus Development Project" issued by the University on April 15, 2013. The development agreement consists of the Master Lease, the Student Housing Supplemental Lease, the Office Building Supplemental Lease and the Office Space Lease. These agreements are subject to approval by certain state oversight authorities.

Mr. von Lehe called for a second to the committee motion. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and the motion passed with Chairman Warr and Mr. Buyck abstaining.

II. Athletics Contracts

On behalf of the Executive Committee, Chairman Warr moved approval of the contract for Coach Steve Spurrier as presented by Mr. Parham and detailed in materials provided to the Board. Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

On behalf of the Executive Committee, Chairman Warr moved approval of the contracts for assistant football coaches Lorenzo Ward, Shawn Elliott and Steve Spurrier, Jr. as presented by Mr. Parham and detailed in materials provided to the Board. Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

BOT 011614 Page 2 of 3

III. Adjournment

Since there were no other matters to come before the Board, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

my E Stone

Secretary

BOT_011614 Page 3 of 3