The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

August 8, 2014

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 8, 2014, at 1:35 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Miles Loadholt. Mr. William C. Hubbard was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mrs. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Also present were faculty representative Dr. James H. Knapp and student representative Lindsay Richardson.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Jancy Houck; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; University Foundations Executive Director Russell H. Meekins; Executive Director, Office of Economic Engagement, William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Director of Government and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley Mills; Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Lacy Ford; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan A. Elkins; USC Upstate Chancellor Thomas Moore; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra J. Jordan; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; University Educational Foundation Chairman C. John Wentzell; wife of Board member Miles Loadholt, Ann Loadholt; wife of Board member Thomas C. Cofield, Janet Cofield; Trustee Emeritus Herbert Adams; First Lady Patricia

EXE_080814 Page 1 of 2

Moore-Pastides; USC Alumnus Matt Fligg; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and welcomed those in attendance. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the full Board of Trustees; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a personnel matter appropriate for Executive Session and called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Loadholt so moved and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: Trustees, President Pastides and Secretary Stone.

Executive Session

Return to Open Session

I. Board of Trustees Standing Committee Assignments

Board Chairman Warr asked Secretary Stone to present the list of proposed Standing Committee assignments. He then called for a single motion to approve all committee appointments [Exhibit A]. Mr. von Lehe so moved. Mr. Loadholt seconded. The vote was taken and the motion passed.

Chairman Warr next announced his appointment of the chairman and membership of the Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning [Exhibit A]. He announced that the Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning meeting scheduled for later in the day would be rescheduled. He said other ad hoc committees would be appointed if needed.

II. Other Matters

There were no other matters to come before the committee.

III. Adjournment

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Board Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

EXE_080814 Page 2 of 2