The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Health Affairs Committee

March 10, 2014

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met at 11:45 a.m. on Monday, March 10, 2014. The meeting was conducted by telephone conference call hosted from the Osborne Administration Building, Room 206B.

Members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hugh Mobley; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Ina Wilson.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman stated that there were no members of the media in attendance.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Smith said that there was a proposed contractual matter appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Mobley moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Walton, Mr. Parham, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Heath and Mr. Hickman.

HAC\_031014 Page 1 of 2

## Executive Session

## Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary

HAC\_031014 Page 2 of 2