The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Health Affairs Committee - Called Meeting

June 12, 2014

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met at 2:00 p.m. on Friday, June 12, 2014, in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present (by phone) were: Dr. C. Edward Floyd, Presiding Chair; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. Hugh Mobley; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present (by phone) were: Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook who was present in person.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Provost Michael D. Amiridis; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; School of Medicine Columbia Interim Dean Caughman Taylor; Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeff Perkins; Associate Dean for Medical Education and Academic Affairs Joshua Thornhill; School of Medicine Columbia Legal Counsel Hedy Zaragoza; Vice Provost for Health Sciences Meera Narasimhan; Assistant Dean, Medical Student Education-Florence, William Hester; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Ina Wilson.

## Open Session

Dr. Floyd called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. He stated that the agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman stated that there were no members of the media in attendance.

Dr. Floyd said there were proposed contractual matters and a need to receive legal advice, appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Mobley moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried. The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Provost Amiridis, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Mr. Perkins, Dr. Taylor, Dr. Narasimhan, Dr. Hester, Dr. Thornhill, Ms. Zaragoza, Mr. Hickman, and Mr. Heath.

Executive Session

## Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Mr. von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary