The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee

August 8, 2014

The Intercollegiate Athletics Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 8, 2014, at 1:45 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr.

William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P.

Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. Charles H. Williams was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mrs. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Also present were faculty representative Dr. James H. Knapp and student representative Lindsay Richardson.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Jancy Houck; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; University Foundations Executive Director Russell H. Meekins; Executive Director, Office of Economic Engagement, William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Director of Government and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley Mills; Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Lacy Ford; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan A. Elkins; USC Upstate Chancellor Thomas Moore; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra J. Jordan; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; University Educational Foundation Chairman C. John Wentzell; wife of Board member Miles Loadholt, Ann Loadholt; wife of Board member Thomas C. Cofield, Janet Cofield; Trustee Emeritus Herbert Adams; Fist Lady Patricia Moore-Pastides; USC Alumnus Matt Fligg; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Board Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the full Board of Trustees; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>

Board Chairman Warr opened the floor to nominations as Secretary Stone presented the list of newly appointed committee members on the room monitors. Mr. Allen nominated Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr. as chair of the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee and Mr. Jones seconded the nomination. No other nominations were forthcoming and nominations were closed. The vote was taken, and Mr. Buyck was elected.

II. Adjournment

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Board Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary