The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

March 3, 2015

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met by telephone conference call at 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, March 3, 2015, in the Osborne Administration Building, Room 206B.

Members present by phone were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; Ms. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Charles H. Williams. Mr. Thomas C. Cofield attended in person.

Members absent were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; and Board staff member Terri Saxon. Joining by telephone from USC Beaufort were Chancellor Jane Upshaw and Vice Chancellor for Finance & Operations, Earle Holley.

Open Session

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to identify those present in the room and to call the roll to confirm who was participating by telephone. Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Mr. Hickman stated that there were no members of the media in attendance.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a proposed contractual matter appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session, Mr. Fennell so moved, and Mr. Williams seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Chancellor Upshaw, Mr. Holley, Mr. Heath and Mr. Hickman.

BOT_030315_Called Page 1 of 2

Return to Open Session

II. Amended USC Beaufort/Hilton Head Island MOU

Chairman Warr asked for a motion to approve the amended MOU as described in the materials posted on the Board Portal and presented by Mr. Parham. Ms. Bethea so moved. Mr. Williams seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion passed.

III. Adjournment

Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

BOT_030315_Called Page 2 of 2