The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

April 1, 2016

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 1:04 p.m. on Friday, April 1, 2016, in a called meeting in Room 206-B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mrs. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mrs. Molly M. Spearman; and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; and Board staff member Terri Saxon.

I. Call to Order

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. After Secretary Stone called the roll to verify Trustees joining by telephone, Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: David Cloninger with *The State*; Willie Smith with *The Greenville News*; David Caraviello with *The Post & Courier* in Charleston; John Del Bianco with TheBigSpur.com; Collyn Taylor with Gamecock Central; Brian Hand with *Spurs & Feathers*; Joe Gorchow and Jeff Diamond with WIS-TV; Reggie Anderson with WLTX-TV; and Phil Kornblut with South Carolina Radio Network.

Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session to discuss an athletics employment contract. Mr. Jones so moved and Mrs. Bethea seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Parham, and Mr. Hickman.

BOT_040116 Page 1 of 2

EXECUTIVE SESSION

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Athletics Employment Contract

Chairman Warr called on Mr. Parham who presented a summary of a proposed four-year extension to Head Men's Basketball Coach Frank Martin's employment agreement [Exhibit A].

Chairman Warr called for a motion to approve the contract for Head Men's Basketball Coach Frank Martin as presented. Mr. Allen made the motion and Mr. Lister seconded. The vote was taken and the motion passed.

III. Adjournment

Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 1:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

BOT_040116 Page 2 of 2