The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

February 19, 2016

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met for a called meeting at 9:50 a.m. on Friday, February 19, 2016, in the Alumni Center Boardroom.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Ms. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William W. Jones Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr., Board Chairman. Absent was: Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Other Board members present were: Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister and Mr. Miles Loadholt.

Also present was: Faculty Senate Chair August E. "Augie" Grant.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan T. A. Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for System Planning Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Vice President for Facilities and Transportation Derrick Huggins; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Senior Associate Athletics Director Judy Van Horn; Athletics Chief Financial Officer Jeff Tallant; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; USC Upstate Chancellor Tom Moore; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; University Controller Jennifer Muir; Trustee Emeritus M. Wayne Staton; Executive Director for the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; My Carolina Alumni Association Senior Director of Operations Kevin Grindstaff; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Terri Saxon and Ina Wilson.

AAFL_021916 Page 1 of 2

Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce

themselves. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the

Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was

present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that the following members of the

media were in attendance: Pete Iacobelli with the Associated Press; Scott Hood with Gamecock Central;

and Willie T. Smith III with The Greenville News.

Chairman Westbrook stated that there were personnel matters dealing with honorary degree

nominations that were appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Fennell moved to enter Executive Session

and Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Secretary Stone, President Pastides,

members of the President's Executive Council, Ms. Doran, Dr. Grant and Mr. Kaufman.

Executive Session: Personnel Matters

Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Westbrook declared

the meeting adjourned at 9:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

AAFL 021916 Page 2 of 2