The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Buildings and Grounds Committee - Called Meeting

June 10, 2016

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 12:24 p.m. on June 10, 2016, in the Alumni Center Boardroom.

Members present were: Mr. Toney J. Lister Presiding Chairman; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. William C. Hubbard joined by telephone. Committee Chairman William W. Jones Jr. was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mrs. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Thad Westbrook; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Also present was the Chairman of the Faculty Senate August E. "Augie" Grant.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan T. A. Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for System Planning Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; Deputy Athletics Director Charles Waddell; Chief Financial Officer, Athletics Department, Jeff Tallant; Chief Operating Officer, Athletics Department, Kevin O'Connell; Senior Associate Athletics Director Judy Van Horn; Executive Director for the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Lacy Ford; Senior Associate Dean for Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Anne Bezuidenhout; My Carolina Alumni Association Senior Director of Operations Kevin Grindstaff; Executive Assistant to the President for Equal Opportunity Programs Bobby D. Gist; Assistant Director of the Office of Equal Opportunity

B&G_061016 Page 1 of 3

Programs/Deputy Title IX Coordinator Carl R. Wells; Chief Diversity Officer and Director of Community Engagement, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, John H. Dozier; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Associate Professor and Graduate Athletic Training Program Director, College of Education, Toni M. Torres-McGehee; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance Joe Sobieralski; USC Beaufort Interim Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs Gordon Haist; Ann Loadholt, wife of Trustee Miles Loadholt; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen, Terri Saxon and Ina Wilson.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Presiding Chairman Lister called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Mr. Hickman introduced John Whittle with *The Big Spur*; Scott Hood with Gamecock Central; and Michael Boddie with the *Daily Gamecock*.

Presiding Chairman Lister stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been provided to the committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Presiding Chairman Lister stated that there were proposed contractual matters related to gift naming opportunities that were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Cofield moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: Trustees, Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, the faculty representative to the Board, members of the President's Executive Council, and Ms. Doran.

Executive Session

Return to Open Session

II. Gift Naming Opportunities

Presiding Chairman Lister called on Ms. Jancy Houck, who said that the Gift Naming Opportunities Committee met on May 31, 2016, and approved naming opportunities in conjunction with the appropriate donations. The following gift naming opportunities were presented in Executive Session without objection:

B&G_061016 Page 2 of 3

A. <u>Athletics</u>

- 1. Barnhill Gate
- 2. Tommy Suggs Garnet Way

B. School of Law

Coleman Karesh Reading Room

Presiding Chairman Lister called for a motion to recommend that the full Board approve these gift naming opportunities. Mr. Cofield so moved and Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

III. Adjournment

There being no other business to come before the committee, Presiding Chairman Lister declared the called meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

B&G_061016 Page 3 of 3