The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

August 19, 2016

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 12:05 p.m.

on Friday, August 19, 2016, in the C. Edward Floyd Boardroom at the Alumni Center.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; William W. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C.

Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Tommy D. Preston Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Mr.

Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present were faculty representative August E. "Augie" Grant and student representative Michael Parks.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Vice President for Facilities and Transportation Derrick Huggins; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; USC Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; University Foundations Executive Director Russell H. Meekins; USC Educational Foundation Board Chairman Boyd B. Jones; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Lacy K. Ford; Executive Director for the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; University Controller Jennifer Muir; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Assistant Director, Facilities Design and Construction, Thomas Opal; Associate Director of Public Relations, Division of Communications and Public Affairs, Jeff Stensland; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance Joe Sobieralski; Trustee Emeritus Donald A. Bailey; Trustee Emeritus Herbert C. Adams and Mrs. Gwen Adams; Mrs. Cynthia Lister, wife of Trustee Toney J. Lister; Mrs. Ann Loadholt, wife of Trustee Miles Loadholt; family and friends of Board Chairman John von Lehe included: Maggie Metcalf, John C. von Lehe III, Art von Lehe, Rosemary MacIntosh, Deborah Walter, Louis Walter, Julian Adams, Robert Adams, Barry Burnette, Wilbur Johnson, Charlotte Ellard, Rhoxie Ellard; University Technology Services Photographer Jason Ayer; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order and asked that the members of the newly elected Executive Committee introduce themselves. He then asked Mr. Hickman to introduce members of the media in attendance: Rodney Welch with the *Free Times* and Avery Wilks with *The State*. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Motion for Executive Session

Chairman von Lehe called for a motion to enter Executive Session for personnel matters dealing with committee assignments for Board members. Mr. Warr so moved and Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman von Lehe invited the following persons to remain: Members of the Board, President Pastides, Secretary Stone and Mr. Parham.

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. <u>Assignments to Standing Committees of the Board of Trustees</u>

Chairman von Lehe asked Secretary Stone to present the list of proposed Standing Committee assignments. Secretary Stone presented the proposed membership of each committee on screen and read each aloud. Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee Mark W. Buyck Jr. Thomas C. Cofield A. C. "Bubba" Fennell William C. Hubbard Leah B. Moody Tommy D. Preston Jr. C. Dorn Smith Thad Westbrook John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Audit and Compliance Committee

Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs Thomas C. Cofield William W. Jones Jr. Tommy D. Preston Jr. C. Dorn Smith Mack I. Whittle Jr. Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Buildings and Grounds

Chuck Allen Mark W. Buyck Jr. C. Edward Floyd William C. Hubbard Toney Lister Miles Loadholt Leah B. Moody Thad Westbrook John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio <u>Health Affairs Committee</u> A. C. "Bubba" Fennell William C. Hubbard Miles Loadholt C. Dorn Smith Eugene P. Warr Jr. Thad Westbrook Mack I. Whittle Jr. Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs Mark W. Buyck Jr. William W. Jones Jr. Toney J. Lister Miles Loadholt Mack I. Whittle Jr. Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Student-Trustee Liaison Committee

J. Egerton Burroughs Thomas C. Cofield A. C. "Bubba" Fennell C. Edward Floyd Leah B. Moody Tommy D. Preston Jr. Molly M. Spearman Eugene P. Warr Jr. John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Chairman von Lehe asked for a motion and second to approve the proposed membership list for the Board's Standing Committees. Dr. Floyd made the motion and Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion was approved.

Chairman von Lehe announced that he planned to appoint members of the Ad Hoc Committee on

Strategic Planning prior to that committee's next meeting, which had been rescheduled for September 16,

2016. He also said that he was considering the possible creation of an ad hoc committee to study and

report on the Board's committee structure and Bylaws.

Immediately following the Executive Committee meeting, Chairman von Lehe said that he would

convene a meeting of each Standing Committee for the election of committee chairs.

III. <u>Adjournment</u>

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Chairman von Lehe

declared the meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary