The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

February 17, 2017

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met for a called meeting at 1:30 p.m. on Friday, February 17, 2017, in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom.

Members present were: Ms. Leah B. Moody, Chair; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Dr. C. Dorn Smith; Mr. Thad Westbrook; and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman, who participated by phone. Absent was Mr. Tommy Preston Jr.

Other Board members present were: Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William W. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board Vice Chairman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present was Faculty Senate Chair August E. "Augie" Grant.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan T. A. Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Information Officer Doug Foster; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Vice President for System Planning and Interim Chancellor for USC Upstate Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Executive Director for University Foundations Russell H. Meekins; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; USC Upstate Chancellor-Elect Brendan Kelly; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; Associate Vice President for Finance Jennifer Muir; Associate Vice President for Finance Kelly Epting; Vice Provost and Director of Global Carolina P. Allen Miller; College of Engineering and Computing Dean Hossein Haj-Hariri; College of Engineering and Computing Associate Dean Hanif Chaudhry; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative AAFL_021717 Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; Director of Capital Finance Charlie Fitzsimons; Mrs. Ann Loadholt, wife of Trustee Loadholt; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Chair Moody called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce themselves. She stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that there were no members of the media in attendance.

Chair Moody stated that there were personnel matters dealing with honorary degree nominations that were appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Williams moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Secretary Heath, President Pastides, members of the President's Executive Council, Ms. Doran and Dr. Grant.

Return to Open Session

As there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chair Moody adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary