The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

April 21, 2017

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met for a called meeting at 9:45 a.m. on Friday, April 21, 2017, in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom.

Members present were: Ms. Leah B. Moody, Chair; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Tommy D. Preston Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad Westbrook; and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present was the Student Representative Ross Lordo.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan T. A. Gabel; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Information Officer Doug Foster; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis Pruitt; Vice President for Facilities and Transportation Derrick Huggins; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief Diversity Officer John Dozier; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; David Seaton, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Fluor Corporation; Executive Director for University Foundations Russell H. Meekins; University Architect Derek Gruner; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; USC Beaufort Chancellor AI Panu; USC Upstate Chancellor Brendan Kelly; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Lacy Ford; Associate Vice President for Finance Kelly Epting; Chief Operating Officer, Athletics Department, Kevin O'Connell; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; Associate Director of Public Relations Jeff Stensland; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Chair Moody called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce themselves. She stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that Rodney Welch with the *Free Times* was in attendance.

Chair Moody stated that there was a personnel matter dealing with an honorary degree nomination that was appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Fennell moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Heath, members of the President's Executive Council, Ms. Doran, Mr. Seaton and Mr. Lordo.

Executive Session: Personnel Matters

Return to Open Session

As there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chair Moody adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary