The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

### Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

August 17, 2018

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 17, 2018, at 3:43 p.m. in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Ms. Rose Buyck Newton.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Thad Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; with Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs and Mr. Charles H. Williams joining by telephone.

Also present were: USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta and USC Columbia Student Government President Taylor Wright.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Chief Advancement Officer and Senior Advisor to the President Paula Harper Bethea; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief Audit Executive Pam Doran; USC Beaufort Chief Information Officer Eddie King; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

#### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Board Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order; stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman announced no media were in attendance. Board Chairman von Lehe asked Secretary Heath to read aloud the names of the newly elected members of the committee.

AAFL\_081718 Page 1 of 2

# II. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>

Board Chairman von Lehe opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Hubbard nominated Ms. Leah B. Moody as Chair of the Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee. Dr. Floyd seconded the nomination. Mr. Buyck moved nominations be closed and Ms. Moody elected by acclamation. There being no objection, Ms. Moody was elected.

## III. Adjournment

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Board Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath Jr. Secretary

AAFL\_081718 Page 2 of 2