The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Meeting

July 11, 2018

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 9:47 a.m. on Wednesday, July 11, 2018, by telephone conference hosted from Room 206-B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Vice Chairman; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield (who was present in the room); Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Dr. C. Dorn Smith; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Trustees absent from the meeting were Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; and Ms. Molly M. Spearman.

USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta attended the meeting in person and USC Columbia Student Government President Taylor Wright participated by telephone.

President Harris Pastides joined the meeting by telephone. Other participants present in the room included: Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Advancement Officer and Senior Advisor to the President Paula Harper Bethea; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology Doug Foster; Associate Vice President for Human Resources Carolina Agardy; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief Audit Executive Pam Doran; USC Public Relations Specialist Dana Woodward; South Carolina Commission on Higher Education Government Affairs Manager Katie Philpott; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

#### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order and stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Mr. Hickman introduced news media in attendance: Lucas Daprile with *The State* and David Cloninger with *The Post and Courier*.

### II. <u>Gift Naming Opportunity</u>

Chairman von Lehe called on Mr. Hubbard who on behalf of the Buildings and Grounds Committee, which met earlier in the day, moved approval of the following Athletics Department gift naming as recommended by the Gift Naming Opportunities Committee: Cyndi and Kenneth Long Family Football Operations Center.

The vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

# III. Employment Agreement, Vice President for Human Resources

On behalf of the Executive and Governance Committee, which met earlier in the day, Chairman von Lehe moved approval of the employment contract for Caroline Agardy as Vice President

for Human Resources at an annual salary of \$236,000, effective August 1, 2108.

The vote was taken, and the motion approved.

# IV. <u>University's FY 2018-2019 Annual Operating Budget</u>

On behalf of the Executive and Governance Committee, which met earlier in the day,

Chairman von Lehe moved approval of the proposed total current funds budget for the USC System for fiscal year 2019, including the operating budgets, the tuition and fees schedules, the budgets for all auxiliary enterprises, and the designated funds budget.

The vote was taken, and the motion approved with Trustee Cofield voting against approval.

V. <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no other matters on the agenda, Chairman von Lehe adjourned the meeting at

9:51 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary