The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

<u>Executive and Governance Committee</u> <u>Called Meeting — Appointment of 2018-2020 Standing Committees</u>

August 17, 2018

The Executive and Governance Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees held a called meeting at 3:37 p.m. on Friday, August 17, 2018, in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom for the biennial election of members of the Board's Standing Committees.

Members participating were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board

Vice Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.

Other participating Trustees were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Robert F. Dozier; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle; and with Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs and Mr. Charles Williams joining by telephone.

Also present were: USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta and USC Columbia Student Government President Taylor Wright.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Chief Advancement Officer and Senior Advisor to the President Paula Harper Bethea; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief Audit Executive Pam Doran; USC Beaufort Chief Information Officer Eddie King; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order; stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman announced no media were in attendance. There being no objection, Chairman von Lehe said the committee would remain in Open Session to

discuss the assignment of Trustees to Standing Committees.

II. <u>2018-2020 Assignments to Standing Committees of the Board of Trustees</u>

Chairman von Lehe called on Ms. Allen who presented a PowerPoint illustrating the

proposed membership as follows:

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee
Mark W. Buyck Jr.
Thomas C. Cofield
Robert F. Dozier Jr.
A. C. "Bubba" Fennell
C. Edward Floyd
William C. Hubbard
Leah B. Moody
Rose Buyck Newton
John C. von Lehe Jr Ex officio
-

- Audit and Compliance Committee Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs Robert F. Dozier Jr. Rose Buyck Newton C. Dorn Smith III Thad Westbrook Mack I. Whittle Jr Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio
- Buildings and Grounds J. Egerton Burroughs Mark W. Buyck Jr. William C. Hubbard Toney Lister Miles Loadholt Leah B. Moody Eugene P. Warr Jr. Thad Westbrook John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

<u>Health Affairs Committee</u> Thomas C. Cofield Robert F. Dozier Jr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell C. Edward Floyd William C. Hubbard C. Dorn Smith III Mack I. Whittle Jr. Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee Chuck Allen Mark W. Buyck Jr. Toney J. Lister Miles Loadholt Eugene P. Warr Jr. Thad Westbrook Mack I. Whittle Jr. Charles H. Williams John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Student and System Affairs Committee Chuck Allen J. Egerton Burroughs Thomas C. Cofield A. C. "Bubba" Fennell Leah B. Moody Rose Buyck Newton C. Dorn Smith III Molly M. Spearman John C. von Lehe Jr. - Ex officio

Chairman von Lehe asked for a motion and second to approve the proposed membership for the Board's Standing Committees. Mr. Loadholt made the motion and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion was approved.

Chairman von Lehe announced he was appointing the following to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning: Thad Westbrook, chair; Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Thomas C. Cofield; Robert F. Dozier Jr.; A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; William C. Hubbard; Miles Loadholt; Leah B. Moody; C. Dorn Smith III; Mack I Whittle Jr.; and the Board's Strategic Advisor David Seaton. Immediately following the Executive and Governance Committee meeting, Chairman von Lehe said that he would convene a meeting of each Standing Committee for the election of committee chairs.

III. <u>Adjournment</u>

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 3:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary