The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning

June 7, 2019

The Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 3:50 p.m. on Friday, June 7, 2019, in the C. Edward Floyd Boardroom at the Pastides Alumni Center.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board Vice Chairman; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; with Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. joining by telephone. Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr. was absent.

Other Board members present were: Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; and Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; with Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs joining by telephone.

Also present were Strategic Advisor David Seaton, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta and USC Columbia Student Government President Luke Rankin.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Interim President-Elect and USC Upstate Chancellor Brendan Kelly; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Caroline Agardy; Interim Chief Communications Officer Sally McKay; Interim Provost-Elect and School of Music Dean Tayloe Harding; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; University Controller Mandy Kibler; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; Chief Audit Executive Pam Doran; Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins III; Executive Director for the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Chief Executive Officer My Carolina Alumni Association Wes Hickman; Office of Equal Opportunity Programs Director Clifford Scott; Assistant to the President for System Affairs Eddie King; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

## I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman Westbrook said in order to expedite the meeting, he would dispense with the AdHocSP\_060719

Page 1 of 2

calling of names. He called on Ms. McKay who said there were no members of the news media present.

Chairman Westbrook said the agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business. He announced an agenda change, noting Mr. Kirkland's presentation on the economic engagement strategic initiative would be rescheduled.

### Motion to Enter Executive Session

Chairman Westbrook called for a motion to enter Executive Session for a proposed contractual matter regarding engaging a consultant to conduct an executive compensation and organizational study.

Dr. Smith so moved, and Ms. Moody seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion passed.

Chairman Westbrook invited the following persons to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Heath, Interim President-Elect Kelly, Mr. Seaton, Ms. Agardy and Ms. Allen. He announced the committee would return to Open Session to adjourn.

### **Executive Session**

There being no other matters appropriate for Executive Session, Chairman Westbrook declared a return to Open Session.

## Return to Open Session

#### II. Adjournment

Chairman Westbrook the meeting adjourned at 4:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary

AdHocSP\_060719 Page 2 of 2